Désir Diaries / Her Eyes Only / 10 Read-Me-Now Books Like 50 Shades of Grey

10 Read-Me-Now Books Like 50 Shades of Grey

Books like 50 Shades of Grey are definitely becoming more popular, and as our latest survey revealed, you want to know more about them! So today’s post is about erotic fiction.

Now that the phenomenon of The 50 Shades of Grey series is dying down, you’ll be on the hunt for the next series that is going to take your breath away. The good news is that there are dozens of new erotic writers that have risen to prominence since this niche exploded some years ago.

Many of these titles are similar to EL James’s work because they’ve been modelled on her success, but there are also completely different stories that you will enjoy just as much.

The-best-erotic-fiction-in-2017

Below you’ll find stories on bedroom bondage, escapism, love, sex and one-night stands as we explore the latest reads in the genre of erotic fiction – a South African favourite!

Fifty-Shades-Darker-E-James

#1: 50 Shades Darker

If you’re in love with books like 50 Shades of Grey, don’t forget to complete the actual series first. 50 Shades Darker just had a movie release as well, so you’re in for a double treat!

Join Christian and Ana as they reconnect and reignite the flames of passion in this sequel to the international bestselling original 50 Shades of Grey.

Bared-You-Crossfire-Sylvia-Day-ebook

#2: The Crossfire Series

EL James has nothing on Sylvia Day, author of the amazing Crossfire Series. These steamy books will keep you up all night, because their plotlines are great.

The first book in the series is called ‘Bared to You’ – if you couldn’t get enough of books like 50 Shades of Grey, then this is the next logical step on your erotica path.

Surrender-Trilogy-Boxed-Maya-Banks

#3: The Surrender Trilogy

Maya Banks has written a trilogy to rival the 50 Shades books. You’ll love her lonely protagonist who ventures into a hedonistic club to find dominance from a man that isn’t her husband.

Hailed by many of the large literary reviews as one of the best erotic writers alive today, Maya Banks will keep you turning pages until there are none left to turn. Her stories are full of romance, desire and intrigue, and fantasy of course!

Dark-Lover-First-Dagger-Brotherhood

#4: The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series

A little different from plain old erotica, JR Ward is a master of erotic fantasy, which means supernatural influences dotted with close encounters of the sexual kind.

In this paramount series, Beth Randall falls for a man who comes to her at night and tells her frightening tales of blood. She awakens to a new kind of hunger, but for what? Books like 50 Shades of Grey don’t have this much intrigue!

Beautiful-Collection-BEAUTIFUL-BOMBSHELL-BEGINNING

#5: Beautiful Bastard

Christina Lauren sets up these love scenes with effortless style, and like 50 Shades the original manuscript for Beautiful Bastard was also fanfiction.

More than 2 million people loved it when it was posted online, so it became a book. It’s about an intern, and executive and a whole lot of name calling.

the siren

#6: The Siren

Queen of erotica, Nora Sutherlin wrote this one and it’s about exploring BDSM with a lot of emotional charge attached, which makes it one of the top books like 50 Shades of Grey.

The usual stars are present, a controlling man named Zachary Easten and his sexual exploits with women. When passion is pain, nothing is ever that simple, says the book’s teaser!

Gabriels-Inferno-Paperback-Sylvain-Reynard

#7: Gabriel’s Inferno and Rapture

Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture were written by Sylvain Reynard, and though they deal with power plays like 50 Shades, they don’t have the intricate detail.

But this could still appeal to you, it’s smart and intense – and the plot line is better developed than EL James. A powerful man sexually awakens a less powerful woman – you know the drill.

Professional-Game-Maker-Kresley

#8: The Professional

Kresley Cole and the Game Maker Series has also become an international bestseller, because of its similarities to 50 Shades. A Mafia enforcer meets his boss’s long-lost daughter and a relationship forms. It’s a far more interesting premise than most books around, and is worth a read.

If you’re looking for an erotica book from a master writer, Kresley has bestselling fiction in other genres too, and is well known for her vibrant characters and great twists.

#9: Finding Master Right

A book written by Sparrow Beckett, this is a sassy, dangerously provocative novel that takes you deep into the world of BDSM, power and control.

This is a wicked read about ownership and longing, and will teach you more about bondage and dominance that you know from the 50 Shades of Grey books.

Transcending-Darkness-Airicka-Phoenix

#10: Transcending Darkness

A dark, exciting tale by Airicka Phoenix, Juliette Romero sells her soul to the devil and is forced into a life of service. It’s an unusual erotic book that became an international bestseller.

She signs a contract, like Ana does, so it bears a striking resemblance to books like 50 Shades of Grey, even though the context is a little more fantastical and there’s greater mystery in it.

The next time you’re wondering ‘Where can I find books like 50 shades of grey?’ Have a look through this post and choose from these great examples of modern erotic fiction.

It’s incredible how quickly this niche has developed into one of the most prominent fiction sections at the bookstore – even better is how you can buy these titles online in complete secrecy! It can be a little awkward browsing for a sexy book, we understand.

Books like 50 Shades of Grey are fun to read and enjoy – what is sexier than fantasy? Get onto the next book in your chosen series to keep the romance alive!

Check out our range here for more

Did you love this post? Then read on…

Which of these authors have you read and do you have any recommendations for us?

About Clayton Brown

Avatar

Clayton is the SEO strategist for Désir Intimate Collection.

Check Also

Travel Friendly Sex Toys

Travel-Friendly Sex Toys to Take With You on Holiday

Travel-friendly sex toys help you avoid trouble, embarrassment and even criminal charges at the airport. …